Electra, we need to talk.

Who’s my daddy? Well, I actually stopped calling my father Daddy when I was a child. Same guy, but it’s just ‘Dad’ now. Some adults still call their parents Mummy and Daddy. That’s their upbringing and obviously their choice.

I have a husband. He’s not my daddy, he’s my husband.

I don’t know… I think a man who wants to be my daddy is creepy. Unless he plans on reading me a book using animated voices or giving me money to go to the movies with my friends, I’m not sure why he would want to be my parent.

Can we blame Electra, and the old Electra complex Carl Jung referred to for this? Do girls go through an unconscious phase of psychosexual competition with their mother for their father’s attention? Jeez, Oedipus was an accident, and now women want to be with a man offering to be their daddy like it’s something sexy? *shudder*

You want to be my daddy? No thanks. I have a father. If you want to be my ‘baby daddy’, that’s a whole other question. But the answer is still no.

Leave a Reply

