I don’t write ROMANCE!

Do I write romance? No. Romance novels are defined as – primary focus on the relationship and romantic love between two people, and must have an “emotionally satisfying and optimistic ending.”

There are romantic elements to my books as they relate to love, but my books do not contain the same type of language, style or pattern as a romance novel. ERGO – I’m not a romance novelist. I feel like I’ve been saying the same thing over and over in different ways but maybe I’m not being heard. People who buy my books expecting a romance novel will be disappointed to say the least.

I write about people, about relationships, about life, about death, about crime, about abuse, about resilience and hope and love. And I do that in a simple and direct way because people are complicated. Life is complicated. Love… love is easy if you do it right.

2 thoughts on “I don’t write ROMANCE!

  1. I was curious about why people might think your book is a romance and took a look at the blurb. It does set up a bit of a “love triangle” between the main female character and two close men, a common romance theme. Of course, the blurb offers all kinds of other elements, but this is the main “conflict” it presents. The content warning could be interpreted as steamy sex. I have to admit that I might mistake it for a romance too if I didn’t know you. Hope this feedback is helpful, Ruth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The newest book received low ratings, apparently due to an expectation that it was a romance novel. Like I said, there is romance in my books as it relates to love, and there are sex scenes. But the issue is the definition of genre. While my series could be ‘romantic suspense’ there is a vast difference in the expectations of a ‘romance’ novel and the style, language and premise of the book. Readers can see the genre of the books they are buying. Rating it low because you didn’t read the genre or the blurb shouldn’t be taken out on the author in the form of a low review. Particularly telling them you “hated it” and you’re getting a refund, if the reason you hate it is because it’s not the genre you like and were expecting a different story. Caveat emptor.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

