Liking likes

I’ve done this topic before to various degrees in previous blog posts but now I enter this subject with more insight and from a different angle. This won’t be a popular opinion, but then again I believe that’s the point.
If you’re part of the indie author world, trying to get noticed amongst a sea of authors who all have something to offer, then you know how hard it can be to be seen. You know how hard it can be to feel invisible. You might also feel like other people are ‘cheating’ when it comes to competitions that require ‘likes’. You might be right. Let’s try an example… let’s try a most likes competition (eg. banner, best author of the year, cover).

Authors –
Some authors are desperate for likes. Liking likes is okay, it means that if you have likes then more people are like-ly to see you because you have a broader base. If those likers like something of yours then people who like them (i.e their friends) will get notified that they liked something and so on. So far so good. What about authors who plead for likes, who push for likes, who demand likes?  They usually get them. Are they legitimate likes? No. Does that worry some authors? No. They need the likes, got to have them. Other authors may give it a couple of tries, nudge a few friends, hope for the best then throw their hands up. They can’t compete with the pushy author. The squeaky wheel gets the grease and other platitudes. Then there are the other authors who sit back hoping for a legitimate like.

Facebook blogs running competitions –
There is no right answer here. If you’re asking for the one with the most likes, then you have to take what you get. You make it as fair as you can and say they can’t enter next time. That’s good. For things like claiming a ‘reader’s choice’ award and promoting someone as the ‘best of the year’, what you’re actually getting is usually a popularity contest and not a legitimate response from readers and not a legitimate ‘best of’ unless it’s for ‘best at cultivating likes’. If it were a legitimate poll of people who had read a particular author’s work, or who genuinely believed that their cover/banner was the best – the result would be different. Sure it generates visitors to the blog, generates interest in a particular post, but it also creates a false ‘award’ in some cases. And it means that people can claim to be the best of something that they’re really not.

What’s the point to this? There isn’t one really. I just think it’s a fascinating part of the human condition to take pride in something you haven’t earned. It can be encouraging to some and devastating to others.

 

5 thoughts on “Liking likes

  1. I have a lot of followers, Ruth. About 20% of them are likers and we have a liker relationship. Of those, about half are commentors and those are the people that I put my time and energy into because there is an effort at friendship and the relationship is a personal exchange. Sometimes we hit it off immediately and sometimes it takes time (likers turning into commentors). I suppose my point is I’ll meet anyone where they want to meet, but the person to person exchanges are where the true value and joy lies, for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree. I have met some wonderful people and enjoy interacting directly with my readers. I wouldn’t give that up. In this example, I was looking at the competitions where people get their friends to vote on things because they want the ‘award’ whatever it is. I just feel that these types of “competitions” often create more negativity than positivity, and don’t have a lot of merit. I don’t think that books should be a competitive market, because there are so many different things on offer.
      (I actually wrote this many months ago, but it apparently didn’t publish and was still a ‘draft’.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree on the competitions, totally, Ruth. I won’t vote for a book that I haven’t read, though I will browse and vote on covers (and I vote honestly). I also would never ask anyone to vote for something they haven’t read. It would feel dishonest and plain weird 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

