Stereotypical stereotyping

Am I asking you to change? Not exactly. I’m asking you to suspend a preconceived idea. That’s a big ask. I know that.

“Stereotype – a widely held but fixed and oversimplified image or idea of a particular type of person or thing.”

If you’ve read any of my earlier blogs this is not a new concept, and you already know where I’m coming from and where I’m going with this. When the Ruthless Beings story developed in my mind, and grew into the saga it has,  all of these challenges arose regarding people’s preconceived ideas about certain subjects. Sex, wealth, looks, power, wants, needs, love… and so on. Amethyst Callinger, one of the main characters, is a complicated person (like we all are) and the impact she has on those around her is quite miraculous. And the complexity of all of these characters is really no more challenging than your own complexity and how you really feel about things.
I intentionally wrote the series in a direct way. Lacking excessive use of emotive language and description. I chose to use words in a different way to tell the story. I wanted to write in a non – stereotypical way, and I did. A lot of people can’t see beyond it, because it’s ‘weird’ and ‘erroneous’, and so they will politely nod and continue on their way back to the genres they enjoy and the styles with which they’re familiar. I have no issue with that at all.
The people who push on and embrace the book, allowing themselves to become familiar with the style, have a totally different experience.  In the first chapters (freely available as a sample) some people are already lost. We’re here, we’re over there, we’re focussing on this or that, or seemingly irrelevant things… yes we are.  So let me put this question to you – if you were in that situation what would you remember about that day?  Every little detail, or just some things that really stand out to you? The series is written from an omnipotent third person perspective so the view shifts on a whim.  This also has people confused sometimes, but there are no questions left unanswered in this series. Every shoelace is neatly tied.  If you can follow a soap opera, you can follow this. If you can embrace the unusual writing style, pay attention to the plot, and try to let go of some stereotypes, it’s possible you could not only be entertained by this but you could actually learn something about yourself.
Maybe I should make a companion book to talk you through the psychology and explain the language?  Being an indie author who is more than happy to communicate, I am available to answer questions and to hear your views on the events in the book. If you’re reading the books and have any questions, come find me on Facebook and we can talk about it.

2 thoughts on “Stereotypical stereotyping

  1. The problem with writing in such a simplistic style that you do, readers can’t get involved with the characters. If they don’t feel something for your main character, rather hate or love, they will quit reading, and they won’t come back. Readers buy books to be entertained, to get away from their own lives. They want to immerse themselves in another world, to forget their own troubles. So, to discount them because they don’t understand your writing style is short-sighted. I tried reading the first book, but after a few chapters, when I could care less what happened to the main character, I quit. TBH, it reads like an outline, not a polished story. But, if that’s the writing style you want to use, you really shouldn’t condemn the readers for not understanding. It’s your choice, just like it’s their s to move on to the next book.

    Like

    1. I wasn’t trying to discount people for not understanding, I was trying to explain that the writing style is intentional. I’m not sure where I was condemning readers for not understanding me, because that was not my intention at all. I was trying to explain the style, and the reasons behind it, and I stated that I had no issue at all with people not enjoying it, and returning to genres and styles they were comfortable with.
      Thank you for your feedback about my book too. It means a lot to me that you took the time to give it a try. Other people have really connected with the characters and had a great experience. I thinks it’s wonderful for readers to have so much choice, and for artists (authors) to be able to create and share their work with the world so freely. I know that some people feel crushed when they’re negated by people who didn’t experience their work in a positive way, but one of my earliest posts was ‘don’t crush and don’t be crushed’ and I believe that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

