Writer’s write, right?

There is a lot of advice about writing, everywhere you turn to find advice about writing will offer you something different. I wrote a blog previously called “No right way to write” and I stand by that. Adhering to some writing principles makes you consumable. There are some fascinating and complicated works I’ve seen, requiring you to re-read sentences to unlock the message. I write very simple, direct sentences to tell people exactly what people are doing and where they are. This is considered by some to “lack passion” but I consider it more like making the reader a fly on the wall, an observer. Insights into feelings and motives are there, and your response to those will be how you observe them. You are witnessing the person’s movements and hearing their words, and the rest is up to you. More like a movie, I guess.

Some authors, me included, have a fear of editors.  We fear that the editor will take over and change everything. We fear that the editor will change our voice, our direction, our feeling for the book. Others will tell you that you CANNOT release a book unless you have an editor. They mean that figuratively of course. I don’t have an editor, lots of people don’t have an editor, and we release books. Not everyone wants to be a published author. Some people write for pleasure. I still like being an amateur, and I like learning new things. So maybe as a writer I’m a lousy editor because I want to tell the story just how it came out of my head. I sat, I typed. I didn’t write a draft and figure out how it would fit together, I just sat and typed.

I have all these notebooks that people give me because I write, and they are blank. I might write in them now, just for fun, and see what happens.  I know some people sit and commit to a daily word count, or write it all out by hand and then type it up, or create mind maps, or get the bones down and fill the rest in later.  None of these ways are wrong, they’re just different. No one is better than any other.  Is it the journey or the destination? Both because they mean different things to different people. Writer’s write, right?

 

2 thoughts on “Writer’s write, right?

  1. Ah, the fear of editors. There should be a name for that… I recently had a good experience with an editor for a novelette, but I dread to think what would happen to either of my novels. I know they have faults, and if I ever dared revisit the first one it would consume my life for years, but they are precisely what I made them at the time, and very much a part of me.

    On a lighter note 🙂 I love writing in notebooks. I’ll often use my computer or my iPad, but there’s a pleasure in picking up a new notebook and filling the pages – at least until my daughter steals it for her drawings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. I almost feel like the writing in my books is maturing with the character in my series.
      Some notebooks look so nice that I don’t want to write in them, but I will try. I can relate to daughters stealing notebooks, and, unlike me, she does draw and write in them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

