Knowing the difference

If the subtly of the psychology has caused it to be overlooked, that’s okay, I hope you at least enjoy the stories and being a fly on the wall in the lives of the Ruthless Beings characters.  I’ve been lucky enough to speak to a few readers and I find something intriguing about what they’re saying about one particular issue in the first book. The first book, ABC, is basically introducing you to the characters and establishing the framework for the series.  An event in this book which happens kind of early in the book, is causing a bit of division. So, was it or wasn’t it?

The answer is… well that’s up to you. You’re allowed to have your own opinion. And I really believe that’s the point. If you consider some of my earlier blogs (eg. I know I’m not you, Judging a Billionaire Baby) and you’ve read the book(s) then you would understand where I’m coming from.

For example, when a person makes a complaint about bullying, sexual harassment, or say that they’re offended by something that was said or done, who gets to decide if they felt bullied, if they felt harassed, if they were offended.  We can be offended on someone’s behalf, but it’s really up to them whether they considered something offensive or not.

Another example? A says: “You’re hurting me.” B replies: “No I’m not.”

It’s not up to B whether A is hurt.  If A is hurt, they’re hurt. If B didn’t intend to hurt A, then that should be their response – “I’m not trying to hurt you” – not deciding for them how they feel.

Knowing the difference between our perception and someone’s reality, won’t happen if we don’t try.RGJ quote reality

Leave a Reply

