Writers anonymous

Hi my name is Ruth and I’m a writer… what? This isn’t writers anonymous? Of course it is. I’m a writer and I’m anonymous. The word anonymous could mean of unknown name, incognito, unknown, unacknowledged … yeah, sometimes that’s how I feel. Being an indie author means that no one has heard of me until they’ve heard of me, obviously. You don’t know what you don’t know until you know it.  Life is like that.

People who are picked up by publishing houses aren’t the only people who can write well. The big publisher makes them a brand and their name is in huge writing and you don’t even care what the title is because it’s “the” author.  You don’t need to read a sample of it or wait for a review, you just trust the brand.  The publisher is telling you it’s the best book ever written and you’re ready to believe it.

Do people read reviews? Are they genuine reviews?  Are they influenced by the reviews?  Do they need someone else to tell them what to think about the book?  One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. Would the time spent reading all the reviews be better spent reading a sample yourself (although, not beyond the first chapter because the way they cut them spoils the plot).  I get offers all the time to buy followers on Twitter, to buy reviews on Amazon and to buy all sorts of things that I don’t want.  When someone finds me and reads me and likes me and tells me, then I know I’ve reached them. That’s what I want. I don’t want to be lied to, and I don’t want other people to be lied to on my behalf.

So, until we meet in my work, I’ll be one of the writers anonymous.  And when you know me, I won’t be unknown to you.

Leave a Reply

