Risky writing

I was thinking what a risky past time writing is and with the passing of Colleen McCullough from a stroke I was reminded again. I found my passion for writing (again) just last year. I was working full time and on the weekends attending to housework full time when it got me. So I work all day in an office then I come home attend to household duties then write, all night sometimes. Then I get up, attend to household duties, then work in office, at a computer, all day, then come home attend to household duties then write. All these studies recently about how being sedentary is a killer and I’m spending all day at a computer, writing, writing for work, writing for fun.

“I’ll just write for a couple more minutes” always ends up as hours and I don’t want to put myself at risk of DVT and other issues just because I love writing.  I’m on holiday at the moment and I’m writing, but last week I started setting a timer. Every fifteen minutes I had to get up and go to another room to turn the timer off and then set it again. I just saw an article about wanting to put pedals under kids’ desks at school to keep them active too and I think that’s a good idea. Maybe I’ll put some pedals under the table in my writing nook too.

Leave a Reply

